The Series

In 2021, the DTM dared a successful new beginning: the globally popular GT3 racing cars replaced the cost-intensive Class 1 cars last year. The result: more brand diversity, many new teams, strong drivers and tough battles. The decision in the spectacular title fight in 2021 was only made in the finale at the Norisring. Kelvin van der Linde took third place in the overall drivers’ standings for ABT Sportsline.

With Audi, BMW, Ferrari, Lamborghini and AMG-Mercedes, fascinating sports cars from five manufacturers were on the grid at all of the races in 2021. This year, the grid is even more colourful. For the first time ever in the series’ history, Porsche teams will also be competing for the DTM title.

Team ABT Sportsline is one of the most successful teams in the DTM. The team from Kempten has won 71 races since 2000 and five drivers’ titles.

In 2022, the team led by Hans-Jürgen Abt and Thomas Biermaier will compete with three Audi R8 LMS GT3 evo II cars and three extremely strong drivers: Ricardo Feller, René Rast and Kelvin van der Linde.

A total of eight events with two races each are on the schedule. The races are always held on Saturday and Sunday. All of the races are streamed and broadcast live on various TV stations, including Pro 7 in Germany.

The 2022 season begins at the end of April in Portimão, Portugal. The DTM will be racing there for the first time, as is also the case at Imola in Italy. With the Red Bull Ring in Austria and Spa-Francorchamps, two more popular race tracks in neighbouring countries are on the agenda. However, the DTM’s core market remains Germany with four events at the Lausitzring, Norisring, Nürburgring and at Hockenheim.

The popular DTM platform now has other important pillars: the DTM Trophy for GT4 sports cars, the DTM Classics for historic racing cars, the DTM Esports Series and – in the future – DTM Electric. This is a new racing series in which ABT Sportsline, as a pioneer in the field of electric mobility, is also keenly interested.



The Swiss is new to Team ABT Sportsline. As the reigning GT Masters champion, he is tackling his first DTM season. He is considered a super talent and a diamond in the rough.



The shooting star of the Class 1 era is back in the DTM after a year with ABT in Formula E. Rast is the most successful Audi DTM driver of all time, winning the championship title three times and becoming runner-up once in four years, from 2017 to 2020.



The South African is regarded as the benchmark at the wheel of the Audi R8 LMS GT3. Kelvin van der Linde won four races in his first DTM season with ABT Sportsline and narrowly missed out on winning the title in the end.

Milestones / Achievements


ABT Sportsline entered the challenge of the DTM as a private team. The Abt-Audi TT-R, which was developed in Kempten in record time, did not stand a chance against the factory competitors from Opel and Mercedes-Benz in the first year, but quickly became a fan favourite.


A sensational performance: after the first race wins in the 2001 season, Laurent Aiello and Team ABT Sportsline took home the DTM title in the third year. The French driver even clinched the deal with one race to spare before the season finale, ensuring a roaring party night in the Dutch holiday town of Zandvoort.


After four “privateer” years, Audi officially entered the DTM in 2004 and ABT Sportsline became a factory team. The team managed a brilliant comeback: Mattias Ekström was crowned as the champion, while his Audi Sport Team ABT Sportsline outfit took home the teams’ title and Audi won the manufacturers’ championship.


He did it again: Mattias Ekström won his second title. The fans were treated to a thrilling season: At the season finale in Hockenheim, three drivers still had an opportunity to win the title, including team mate Martin Tomczyk. Ekström only needed a third place in the race to become the champion again.


The 2008 season was dominated by ABT driver Timo Scheider: The German driver, who now lives in Austria, won his first-ever DTM race at Oschersleben and took home the title at the end of the season. Scheider was on the podium in eight of the eleven races and won the title in grand style at the season finale – with another race win.


With the third consecutive title, Audi and ABT Sportsline made motorsports history: No other manufacturer before had managed this hat-trick. Once again it was Timo Scheider who defeated Mercedes star Gary Paffett during a thrilling showdown at Hockenheim.


While longstanding ABT driver Martin Tomczyk won the drivers’ title, ABT Sportsline celebrated winning the teams’ championship: With four wins and three more trophies, Mattias Ekström and Mike Rockenfeller added another chapter to the success story.


Two years without a DTM victory drove ABT Sportsline to new heights: After the first four races, Mattias Ekström had firmly established himself in the top three, and with wins at Zandvoort and in the season finale at Hockenheim, he cemented second place in the drivers’  and team’s championship standings.


Audi Sport Team ABT Sportsline became the teams’ champions of the DTM. After 2004, 2007 and 2011, Audi Sport Team ABT Sportsline won the team’s title for the fourth time with Edoardo Mortara, Mattias Ekström and Mike Rockenfeller, who stood in for the new rallycross world champion Ekström at the season finale. Despite five wins in this year, Mortara narrowly missed the drivers’ title by only four points.


With second place in the final standings, Audi Sports Team ABT Sportsline only narrowly failed to defend the title in the DTM teams’ championship. Mattias Ekström finished second overall in the drivers’ standings, having had to concede the title by only three points in his last DTM season.


After a real thriller of a season, in which Nico Müller was leading for a long time, he kept his chances of winning the title alive until the finale, where he finally became the runner-up. At the same time, Robin Frijns’ equally tremendous performance secured him third place. At last, Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline was able to win the teams’ championship with a 158-point advance.


For the first time since 2003, ABT Sportsline competed in the DTM as a private team.

Kelvin van der Linde won at the Monza season opener with the Audi R8 LMS, scoring the first of a total of four wins for ABT Sportsline. The South African fought for the title until the last race and ended the season third overall. ABT Sportsline finished runner-up in the teams’ standings.

DTM race calendar 2022


29/04 – 01/05    Portimão (P)

20/05 – 22/05    Lausitzring (D)

17/06 – 19/06    Imola (I)

01/07 – 03/07    Norisring (D)

26/08 – 28/08    Nürburgring (D)

09/09 – 11/09    Spa-Francorchamps (B)

23/09 – 25/09    Red Bull Ring (A)

07/10 – 09/10    Hockenheimring (D)

Stay informed
ABT Motorsport - social Media
Follow us on social media to receive all abt motorsports news

Get our newsletter

contact us
Personal data








ABT Motorsport
Johann-Abt-Straße 2
87437 Kempten



+49 831 / 57140-113